Brothers recognise Qld achievers

Some of the Ipswich and District Athletic Club representatives to make state teams this season.


SOME of the Ipswich region’s leading juniors have been recognised through a partnership between the Ipswich and District Athletic Club and Brothers Leagues Club.

Brothers Junior Kindred Club chairperson Joshua Leisemann made a recent presentation at Bill Paterson Oval, recognising the club’s state junior (under 18) representatives.

The athletes honoured for their terrific performances were:  Casey Bell, Breeanna Betzold, Amazing Grace Raeli, Tara Chaplin, Rochelle Vidler, Montanna McAvoy, Kelly McNamara, Miriam Peni, Ellenor Raeli, Hayley Wright, Erin Wright, Tori Langton, Joshua Carrick, Calab Law, Anthony Buhse, Nicholas Grant, Zac Caterson, Ryan Stewart, Sony Vukelic and Rhys Carr.

While some athletes were unable to attend due to other commitments, club president Vic Pascoe appreciated the support Brothers have given in recent years.

The Brothers Kindred Club also supports promising juniors in other sports.

Meanwhile, $100 presentations were also made to high achieving athletics club duo Montanna McAvoy and Kelly McNamara, who represented the city and Queensland at the Australian Cross Country Championships in Canberra in August.

Claire Keefer received a $500 cheque for representing the Ipswich-based club and Australia at the 2016 Rio Paralympics in September, where she won a bronze medal in discus.

Miriam Peni was given a free Platinum membership for 2016-2017 season being the highest participant during the 2015-2016 season.